Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

natural gas delivery pressure

rgar98
rgar98 Member Posts: 59
Hello,
We Just moved into a 45 year old house in Montgomery County, Maryland with an oil furnace and I want to convert to NG. Washington Gas needs to know if I want 0.25 psi or 2 psi delivery. I will have a 90K BTU gas furnace and 80K BTU range (these are both approximations); no other appliances are planned, for now. A contractor suggests the 2 psi option in case I want to add other gas appliances in the future. Does this sound reasonable? If I were to add a 40K water heater would that mean I would need to have a 2 PSI line? Obviously, I'm just learning about this subject and any suggestions would be appreciated.
Thanks.
Richard

Comments

• doc_havoc
    doc_havoc Member Posts: 3
    Not only will a 2 psi line provide lots of room for expansion in the future, but it will also require a smaller gas line to deliver the gas, making the installation easier. A .25 psi system will require a much larger gas line to move the same amount of gas, making installation much more difficult. I personally would go with the 2 psi system.
    mattmia2STEVEusaPAGroundUpZman
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    2 psi. As @doc_havoc said, it gives you room for expansion, and you can always regulate the pressure down -- in fact, you will anyway -- but you can't regulate it up.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • Tim McElwain
    Tim McElwain Member Posts: 4,612