Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How much cooler will a room get with an air source heat pump hot water heater?

I just signed up for an air source heat pump to replace my Boilermate hot water heater. I understand the basics of how it works, but I'm concerned at how much cooler my basement will be when the heat pump is running in the winter. It's a 50 gallon heat pump. The basement volume is 5000 cubic feet. I live in Massachusetts. Can anyone give me some guidance? I tried to do some basic heat transfer calculations (I'm a retired mechanical engineer), and the calculated drop in air temperature is kind of scary.

Comments

• Hvac_artisan
    Hvac_artisan Member Posts: 21
    My moms basement is a lot cooler. So cool that the heat pump portion of the water heater will not work and Hass to be switched to electric. She has an old house and not much insulation. 4 feet of the basement walls are above grade and it’s an old stone foundation with leaky single pane windows. However in the summertime her basement is dryer than it’s ever been thanks to her heat pump water heater.
    samiam1955
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    They make kits to duct the cool air outside.

A simple answer to your question would be to do a heat loss calc on the room vs. the btus extracted by the heat pump.

Obviously, this is something that only an engineer would try to figure out. :D
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
    samiam1955
  • ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,615
    IIRC the SlantFin heat loss app can handle partially-buried CMU walls. Might be a good place to start. Plus, then you could do a heat loss on your whole house & see just how oversized your heat source is. :smiley:
  • samiam1955
    samiam1955 Member Posts: 11