Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Cistern questions

Tom_133
Tom_133 Member Posts: 883
edited October 2021 in THE MAIN WALL
Good morning all!

So I bought a house in June. Its a 1948 cape. It has a full basement, and a concrete foundation thats in great shape. It has a 5'Lx4'Wx5'D cistern in the basement. It is NOT our potable water source, we have a dug well producing 30 gpm. I have the shallow well pump tied to my outside sillcocks for gardening and car washing. The strange thing is the cistern has a dirt bottom and no inlet. I have very little experience with cisterns and always thought there would be a spring feeding it. My question is have any of you come across a situation where it just fills by groundwater? I am aware of a spring that is located on land that at one time belonged to this house but now is on a neighbors property, but that is deeded to a house on a different property from 1858! My roof also happens or was designed to shed a great deal of water on the soil just above the location that would soak down to the cistern. Perhaps it was never a cistern and was always a properly sized sump pump hole?
Tom
Montpelier Vt

Comments

• pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 4,775
    It possible that location has a high water table.

I would have the water tested periodically.
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,042
    Any evidence of rain gutters and down spouts that would have directed the water into the cistern?

Have seen a down spout on the south side of the house piped thru the basement out the north side to water the garden. Also, BYW this house had a cistern or deep cellar, in the north corner below the basement floor.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,162