Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heating an indoor pool room

rachelswim
rachelswim Member, Email Confirmation Posts: 2
edited October 2020 in THE MAIN WALL
I am a swim instructor in rural southern IL. I am putting an above ground pool inside. I was told that the chlorine and salt water systems are very corrosive to the heaters and dehumidifiers. My question is what if I use a copper ionization system. Specific the Ecosmarte system. They have told me it’s not corrosive and I won’t need a special heater or dehumidifier. People around my area are just not familiar with this! Trust me I have called around! Thanks for your help

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    I'm not familiar with it, but the literature looks very attractive. The literature does put chlorination in an entirely negative light -- which is hardly fair; it's not so much what they do say as what they don't. Which, frankly, makes me quite wary of the rest of their claims.

If, however, you are planning to use this pool for lessons outside your own family, you must -- absolutely must -- get your local public health authority to sign off on it. You may find that they have a requirement for a minimum level of residual disinfection in the water at all times, and I don't see a reference to that in the product literature (this is why ozonization or UV is not an option for public pools, by the way, even though it they are wonderful disinfectants). You may be able to get the manufacturer of the system to assist you with this.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561