Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Septic/well system

Canucker
Canucker Member Posts: 722
I thought this might just be the best place to get some knowledge that I'm currently lacking. A series of fortuitous events have led to the possibility of purchasing a large property that is located out of town. It has a well and septic system. In trying to do my due diligence, I have to admit that I have no experience living with either for any length of time, let alone on a property that I may purchase. So, getting to the point, what should I be looking for/asking about the well and septic? What are the deal breakers I should be trying to avoid? At this point I'm trying to get a knowledge base just so I can ask the right questions, so I figure this would be the best place to ask. Thanks in advance.

This is the listing, if you're curious
http://www.remax.ca/on/thorndale-real-estate/na-22076-nissouri-rd-ldnst_582351-lst/
You can have it good, fast or cheap. Pick two

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    There are a lot of properties which depend on wells and septic systems! They are hardly unique -- is some places they are the only thing available.

To look for. On the well, it would not be a bad idea to have the water tested for drinking water. This is a fairly straightforward test and, in fact, the local public health folks may do it for free.

You may or, more likely, may not be able to get information about the depth to water, depth to pump, type of pump, and yield of the well -- and on yield, most residential wells don't have a usable yield test anyway. If the plumbing is done right, even a remarkably anaemic well will be more than adequate for most uses.

Obviously, you should know where the well is...