Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Follow-up question from the Wall Street Journal reporter

Options
DanHolohan
DanHolohan Member, Moderator, Administrator Posts: 16,549
"When an HVAC technician gets an urgent voicemail--especially one that's off hours--does he/she decide not to call back because there's plenty of non-emergency work to do?"

What say you? Thanks!
Retired and loving it.

Comments

• ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,654
    Options
    I would never blow off a call for that reason. I might not (read "almost certainly wouldn't", unless I was expecting it) answer/listen to it, though.

But, I'm an installer. We have a service team for that.

One of the highlights of my career was getting off of the on-call list.

PC7060
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    Options
    They would have to define urgent. And it would have to agree with my definition of urgent. But usually call back. I say usually because it depends on the customer.

There was an error rendering this rich post.

• pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 4,894
    Options
    From an existing customer a call back is given. New customers no. 
  • Mad Dog_2
    Mad Dog_2 Member Posts: 7,112
    Options
    Everyone gets a call or text back.  Within an hour or two of when I get the call.  If its late, next morning latest, but in any case I'll shoot a text and as long as its not a land-line, they will get the message and usually respond back.  They usually appreciate that.  Texting is here to stay.  Its a quick & easy way to keep people in the loop.  Phone calls often go 5-10 minutes.  You can text the info in seconds.  Mad Dog 🐕 
    SlamDunk
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,077
    Options
    I will just about always return a call, usually.

There are a lot of "it depends", and how do you describe urgent?