Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Engineer (Non HVAC) looking for some straight technical talk (MOD-CON)

jav
jav Member Posts: 11
Great forum... I've been reading and learning a lot on here and will no longer just accept sales fluff. As an engineer, I'd like to "understand" what most don't tell you up front so here goes. I'm considering a new mod con boiler.

I need to replace a relatively new system (less than 7 years old) because it's a maintenance and reliability nightmare. Current system is a 140KBTU 80% eff, gas, direct vent cast iron boiler (non modulating) with separate indirect hot water tank on one of the 4 zones. The symptom is the boiler eats hot surface igniters and control boards but, the real problem is (I believe) short cycling and perhaps even piping /pump layout (single circulator- 4 zone valves) . The property is an old 3 family house (3-1200 sq ft units) in Massachusetts- minimal insulation with the indirect tank serving all 3 floors. The boiler was sized due to the max demand with water tank. When the tank is calling plus just even 1 other zone, the boiler doesn't short cycle. However, when just one or even 2 heating zones are calling but no tank demand, it short cycles badly.

I've decided I don't want to band-aid it by adding thermal mass (storage tank) and was "initially" very excited about the MOD CON 10:1 & 15:1 TDR and began reading here only to temper my expectations. Would someone be so kind as to provide a rough primer on the key system gotchas on specing a good, reliable and efficient system with a true service life expectancy of 20+ years? I understand the difficulty in supplying such a large min-max firing range of (20Kbtu min -120Kbtu max-Net) and I'm not looking at this solely from a cost stand-point but, that is a consideration as well.