Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with York Furnace "Ignition Lockout Due to Retries"

mortyd
mortyd Member Posts: 8
edited January 2023 in Gas Heating
Hey all! I'm new to trouble shooting furnaces. I have a York furnace that isn't working. It gets all the way to the point where the ignitor glows red hot (I replaced the ignitor already) and then for some reason sometimes there is no ignition. I thought it was a faulty gas valve because I couldn't hear it click open but the wires were sending 24 V to it so I replaced that. It worked fine for a week then stopped working again. I thought the new gas valve must have been faulty too, so I replaced it again. It works sporadically--sometimes the gas valve clicks open and the flame lights perfectly. Sometimes it doesn't light up and then it locks out due to retries. The red light blinks seven times for "Ignition Lockout Due to Retries." Every time I test the voltage to the gas valve it is 24 V. I haven't caught it not getting voltage. I did use a manometer to see if it was opening and I couldn't hear the click. It actually is not opening sometimes. What else could it be if it is not the ignitor or gas valve? Is it possible that two new gas valves are bad? Is it a short in the wires from the control board and I just can't catch the gas valve not getting voltage? If it were the pressure switch or something else the red light would blink a different number than 7 right? Could this be a control board issue where it just isn't sending the signal to open the gas valve? Thanks for the help!

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    It could that the board is not letting sufficient current to the valve sporadically.

Check all connections and grounds.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
    mortyd