Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Circ pump doesn't receive power during call for heat (new install)

Shepherd
Shepherd Member Posts: 9
Hey everyone,
I used to be a general contractor, mostly did house renovations; I'm competent but lacking specific knowledge. I'm expanding my home system to have in-floor heat. The circ pump on my secondary system isn't receiving power during a call for heat.

My system:
[old install] System 2000 EK1 boiler: 5 zones - dhw, unit heater, radiant storage tank, 2 open zones. All of this works great.
[New install] 5 zone radiant heat managed by a Taco ZVC405-4 Zone Valve Control unit:
All 5 Zone valves are 2 wire type so terminals 3-4 are jumpered on all zone valve terminals as per instructions, working as intended
Taco 007-F5 Pump

My problem:
The pump does not turn on during a call
Voltage reads 120 across the pump end switch
Pump runs fine when hardwired
My assumption is that one of the things I don't understand is bitting me in the butt (explained below), or my ZVC405-4 is defective. I hope I just overlooked something.

Things that are probably bitting me in the butt:
I have everything wired as per the installation manual with 2 exceptions.
There is no wiring from the isolated end switch to the boiler aquastat because my set up doesn't want the boiler starting unless the rad tank drops in temp.
The wiring diagram says "Zone 5 pump end switch" COM should go to a dry contact. This is where my knowledge crumbles. I have a number of guesses but I feel better just asking what the heck this means.

Comments

• Check for voltage at your secondary pump.

If you have 120 volts at the pump, it may not be spinning in which case it will usually be very hot to the touch - be careful. Check the amp draw and see if it matches the pump specifications.