Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need Advise-Confirmation for Underfloor (Between Joist) Radiant Installation -Northern NJ-Zone 5

hcpatel78
hcpatel78 Member Posts: 151
Hello Everyone...I have been reading this blog for all information and be a great source of information here shared by industry professionals. I am a mechanical engineer who has decent hands-on experience with plumbing and understanding of the HVAC system. HVAC is not my primary field for my profession.....so I would like to take advice and learn from HVAC professionals for my little DIY project. I would appreciate of all your help and please correct me if I am doing something wrong with my lack of understanding and knowledge. I have been studying lots of articles, Technical books on HVAC rad design (JOHN S) and watch a series of videos by caleffi and some reputable companies to gather all information. Also, acquire a complex design manual from the UPONOR and study the whole manual.

I wanted to install (Supplemental Heat) radiant underfloor between the joist system. I Lived in Northern NJ (07828 ZIP) and keep design Delta T 70. We have a central air furnace for the house (60000BTU) for primary heating. House is built in 2007 with a 2x4 stud wall. Has R60 insulation on the attic and insulated basement walls with hybrid(2"Foam sheet R10 + R30 Roxul) walls. The basement is 30'x30' with the access of joist with 8' of ceiling ht. It's colonial two-story house. The radiant heat will be for the first floor which has 3/4" OAK hardwood installed on 23/32" thick plywood. I used a watts radiant software for my detail heat loss calculations, which came to 33000 BTUH for 70 delta T.