Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler short cycling and problematic radiator

Nurb
Nurb Member Posts: 26
Hello everyone, I just purchased my first home (c1945) and have been trying to get the steam heat working as well as possible. I have no experience with plumbing, although I am mechanically inclined and good with automotive and electronics repair. The boiler is a Dunkirk model from the mid-80s and there are 5 (2 large, 3 small) radiators on the ground floor and 3 (small) upstairs. My investigation into the system began when the largest radiator on the ground level began spewing water out of the adjustable air vent. Apart from having a reddish brown tint the water seems to be relatively clean. I replaced that vent with a Gorton #5 but it still had the same issue. I noticed the pressure on the boiler's internal pressure gauge was reaching 7-8PSI and ended up replacing the (non-functioning) Pressuretrol from 1999 with a Vaporstat. With the pressure on the Vaporstat set to 1PSI this problematic radiator does not spew water but it also takes forever to heat (all the other radiators are fine). If I set the Vaporstat to 1.25psi or higher the radiator will begin shooting water out the vent again. Another thing to mention is that after running for a minute initially the boiler continually cycles on and off for about 20 second intervals. Any suggestions what I should do? Is the boiler over-sized for the home? Despite all this the system does still heat the house reasonably.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,168
    Do keep the vapourstat at 1 psi.

Are there any main vents on the steam pipes in the basement? You would find them near the end(s) of the steam main(s), after the last radiator takeoff. if so, what are they? If not.. there's more than half your problem with the cycling on and off.