Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Dispatching debate

Options
wrollins84
wrollins84 Member Posts: 1
edited March 2019 in THE MAIN WALL
Hello, I'm a new "member" to the site but have used it many times as a valuable resource in the past, so I want to thank you for all you guys do. I'm fairly new to the hvac field, and I'm office manager for a new residential service company. 8 months in, we currently run 3-4 technicians and cover a fairly large geographical area in the delmarva area. I'm having a dispute with a co-owner about whether technicians should be given their full route to begin the day or whether they should be given one call at a time, then call in for their next assignment. How do you guys dispatch at your businesses, and why?

Comments

• HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,835
    Options
    One at a time. And I'm a service tech. I get my calls for the day and whatever else gets thrown in.
    Most that I know who get the daily schedule, their mind is set on that schedule only. Throw a wrench in and there's a temper tantrum.
    SuperTechGWSTEVEusaPA
  • ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,626
    Options
    I would think that a days' route would be only a guess, as there's no telling how long any given stop will take. At least, I'd hope to be able to spend as long as necessary on a call to find & fix the problem, as opposed to spending only the allotted time there.

NB: I am a comercial installer/startup guy. The only resi work I do is pro bono & family stuff. Can't charge for that, so I take as long as I want to. 'Course, I take as long as I need to on everything else too…

Doubt I'd argue with the boss about it though—there's a good argument for Doing It The Way The Boss Wants It Done.

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,520
    Options