Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Press Fittings

Comments

• mp1969
    mp1969 Member Posts: 226
    Viton or Teflon

Bob,

I discussed this problem with a chemist today and he suggested the very same material as you "Viton".Without consulting his resources he also felt "Teflon" would work.

EDPM O rings have a tendency to bubble in a glycol environment causing an inconsistant seal that will result in seepage or eventually leaks.

The glycol seems to be the culprit if the wrong sealing material is used.

MP 1969
  • Dirty Hands Dale
    Dirty Hands Dale Member Posts: 15
    propress

I am an apprentice, of 2 years, weeks away from finishing my schooling hours.

I never have had to solder joints on a regular baisis.
    I have used propress exclusively, and the only fittings that I have seen cause trouble were operator error. Other than one fitting I cut in half myself, the fitting was in all the way and the gasket looked good, but weeped and would not recrimp.

But I have been to jobs with PP that are atleast 5 years old and the have NO indication of leaks.

I have used glycol in PP systems for heat, winterizing and sno-melt systems, and never saw residue left behind, but I will be on the look out for those leaks.

I think the PP is good stuff, there is a reason that the whole system failed.

On a side note has anyone seen the Rothenberger press/crimp tool yet? I got to use it for a couple of days. Its 12 volt and has a 9 sec crimp cycle, as well as shaped somewhat odd. The tool looks more like a REMS gun than PP gun, it also has four rubber pads for triggers. It uses the same jaws and fittings as the PP. I din't really care for it.
  • Contractor
    Contractor Member Posts: 41
    Rothenberger (spelling?)

Dale,