Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Snowmelt

Options
TomE
TomE Member Posts: 5
Recently got a snowmelt project at a fire station. 2-12' x 100' x 9" concrete slabs at the entrance and exit of the garage. I told the General I did not include the insulation, thinking it was in the concrete package. The Mechanical engineer said there wasn't a need for insulation since we were to put the tubing 3" below the surface. I know it won't work and I need some examples to explain to them why. I'm not an engineer so of course I don't know what I'm talking about! 40+ years of experience doesn't matter.

Comments

• GGross
    GGross Member Posts: 1,059
    Options
    The slab insulation helps to limit downward loss. Remind the engineer that heat does not rise, heat moves to cold. The heat from the tubing will move to cold in any direction, up, down, doesn't matter. Without the slab insulation substantially more of the heat energy will move down into the ground, instead of melting snow on the surface, because there is no thermal break between the earth and the slab you are trying to heat. Every unit of heat energy that is not melting snow, is wasted dollars, while the slab insulation does not stop this entirely, it reduces it greatly. It is not even that it necessarily won't work, if it does work it will cost them (the taxpayers?) substantially more money

Allislandradiantkcoppleonz
  • GGross
    Options