Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

OUCH!

Options
EBEBRATT-Ed
EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,574
Guess I have been sitting and watching TV for 4 years since I retired. But I am replacing my water heater now.

I was roaming HD & Lowes with my jaw dragging on the floor from the prices I am seeing for electrical and plumbing material.

I know the rules, no talking prices so just comment in general terms.

My take is we are double+ what things cost 3-4 years ago.

Is that what you guys are seeing?
mattmia2Mad Dog_2MikeAmann

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,707
    edited June 2023
    Options
    I bought my house in 2000 and there are a lot of things that are about 5x the price of what they were then. Anything with metal or plastic. Copper pipe used to be relatively cheap, same wit romex. Steel fasteners are so expensive that it almost makes no difference to use stainless for things where it could rust.

I just bought some paint in rattle cans to repaint some of my snowblower that i had blasted and painted about 15 years ago, spent I think around $150 on paint.
    Mad Dog_2
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,208
    Options
    I think it is okay to mention material prices that are found online, just not job prices, bids ,estimates.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
    Tom_133WMno57Erin Holohan HaskellJakeCK
  • Tom_133
    Tom_133 Member Posts: 887
    Options
    In general if you are using numbers for materials from 2 years ago with your bids, you are in deep trouble.
    Tom
    Montpelier Vt
    Mad Dog_2STEAM DOCTOR
  • Mad Dog_2
    Mad Dog_2 Member Posts: 7,049
    Options
    I find some Items 3 to 4 times that.  Did a Burnham Steamex...Near boiler piping Ward Steam fittings 3" & 4" came to $4600.00!!!!!!! Almost keeled over.  Mad Dog 🐕 🤣