Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat Pumps Designed to Last More Than 15 years??

Options
Does anyone know of a manufacturer who makes heat pumps designed to last? That are not engineered to be thrown away after 15 years? Even the DOE says that heat pumps should be replaced every fifteen years. Ridiculous!! As an Engineer I know that cannot be true unless some components are especially designed to fail (although it might be true for the easily replaced compressor). Is there anybody who hasn't drunk the Koolaid and is designing for reliability?
Mike - Retired

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,324
    Options
    The question isn't can you design a heat pump -- or whatever -- to last more than 15 years and then build it; the answer to that is of course you can. The question is can you build it at a competitive price? Like it or not, most folks are going to take price into consideration when buying something. Also, like it or not, there aren't all that many folks who don't expect to move within 10 years or so. So why should they pay a premium for something which they won't be able to use? And the odds are the next folks are going to want to upgrade...
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • mcho
    mcho Member Posts: 42
    Options