Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Electric kickspace vs infrared overhead for tiny bathroom?

Options
Jells
Jells Member Posts: 566
I have a small lav/shower with such small open floorspace I didn't think it worthwhile to install radiant under the tile, its only 15 sq ft of tile including the toilet. But I'm regretting doing nothing, it gets chilly. Unfortunately running hydronic from the boiler is impractical, there's no route to get the pipes there without major work.

So I was thinking I could run a new circuit to power either a kickspace heater under the vanity cab or one of those overhead infrared bulb heaters. I assume using the existing 20A circuit for that is not code, however the subpanel is right down the hall and I could pull up the carpet and subfloor for running the cable. But I've no experience with the efficacy of either type of heat. Any info or opinions for me?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,399
    Options
    Very different effects. The infrared heaters overhead are great when you step out of a shower or something, but they don't do much to actually make the space warm, and if you're sitting there contemplating life they don't help much. On the other hand, a small kickspace heater will be more than ample to heat the whole space to whatever temperature you want, but won't be as instant. You won't even need the power which a 15 amp -- never mind 20 amp -- circuit would give you; I'm going to guess in that size space (unless you have outside walls and no insulation of any kind in them) that 750 watts would be more than enough.

What makes you assume that the existing 20 amp circuit is not to code?
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • Mosherd1
    Mosherd1 Member Posts: 70