Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Air Getting into New Radiant System After Cool Down

Options
danwheeler
danwheeler Member Posts: 72
edited December 2021 in Radiant Heating
Hi all,

I've got a new radiant system in new construction that I'm having a heck of a time with air in the system. I've been reading tons of info from posts on here and Garage Journal trying to figure out what's going on. I got the kit from a company who has been great but I'm always up for more information or ideas so I decided to post here. I'm very technically minded but a total newbie at radiant hydronic. Here goes...

The System:
This is a small system - one zone, one pump, 3 circuits, 600 feet of tubing in a concrete slab. "Cabin" is 650 sq feet. It's a pretty standard system, a Grundfos pump, Electro Mini boiler, Watts air separator, expansion tank at 20PSI, etc. I've used all Sharkbite connectors and regular (non OB) PEX on the wall which I know is not ideal but I don't suspect it's contributing to my issue.

The Setup:
My well water is a bit dirty and I haven't used it since summer so I've been using a sump pump to purge and charge the system. I initially purged the lines clean with very clean river water in a tub then replaced that with Cryotek premix antifreeze using the sump pump. I go through a purging process on each circuit and get all the air out to the point where it's completely silent and no indication of air in the system.

The Problem: