Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Skimming - Keep temp at 180-200 degrees

Options
So I am a novice boiler homeowner, but feel comfortable with a cold skim. The manual of my new gas-fired Carrier steam boiler indicates that I should fire up the burners to get the water to 180-200 degrees to skim, but avoid any steam creation. I saw similar recommendations on a wide variety of sites (including this one) for a proper skim.

My question - since I don't have a way of knowing the water temperature, what steps should I take to know the water is in that temperature range but without risk of creating steam?

The only "tools" I think I have to maintain water temp is the thermostat and the manual water fill (cold water).

--------
Boiler info here: https://www.carrier.com/residential/en/us/products/boilers/bs2/
A lot of local folks (CO) were surprised that Carrier made boilers...

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,289
    Options
    You can usually hear when the water is starting to boil. That's when you turn off the burner. The desired temperature range isn't terribly critical, so long as it isn't actually boiler -- and is very very hot.

If you do have a thermometer which will read up there -- swipe your wife's candy thermometer? (on second though, go and get your own...) and just leave it's probe so that the water is going over it as it comes out (don't burn your hands -- and it doesn't have to be there all the time!).
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    ethicalpaul
  • pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 4,847
    Options
    Generally seeing mist or steam coming out of the opening is close enough 
    ethicalpaul
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,525
    Options
    @cold nights