Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

POOL AND HOT TUB HELP

KeenGreen
KeenGreen Member Posts: 27
I am a Hydronic System Designer located in Vancouver BC.
When designing a Hydronic System for a house, I am always stumped by sizing a pool and hot tub heater. BTU's required.
I have completed a heat loss for the heating and domestic (DHW) for the 3 level house. 94,000 btu's.
The house has a separate INDOOR pool and hot tub.
Now I am trying to figure out the btu's required to heat the pool and hot tub.
The pool is 23' x 9' x 6' deep. Temp should be maintained to 82deg.
The hot tub is a 4' x 6' x 4' deep. 104 deg.
They want to use one boiler for the domestic, heating, pool and hot tub.
I've tried to use the online guides but I thought I would get better info from the pro's. Mentors if you will.
When I get a btu load for each load, I can then size my boiler and heat exchangers accordingly.
Once I get a plan of attack I will record this and use it for all of my future Designs.
Thanks in advance.
Jeff

Comments

• nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Is the pool/hot tub inside or outside, and will it be heated all year round? What is the design temperature in your area?
    If outside, is there any insulation around the pool underground?
    Is the location one which is easy for servicing, such as in a major town, with a stocking wholesaler for at least one make of boiler?
    If on an island, or other remote location, then a cast iron boiler, or two might be easier in the long term.—NBC
    wcs5050
  • Larry Weingarten
    Larry Weingarten Member Posts: 3,273
    Hi, An old rule of thumb is that 90% of a pool’s heat loss is from the water surface. Getting a good insulated cover on it will help a lot. I’d ask the pool cover maker how their product affects heater sizing.
    Yours, Larry