Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

When to replace Steam Boiler?- Bergen County NJ

Puffy
Puffy Member Posts: 3
edited October 2022 in Strictly Steam
Hi Everyone,

I have been viewing this forum on and off for a few years. I'm now making my first post.

My cape cod style house was built in 1943. I have a milivolt steam boiler. (My heat works if I lose power) The brand is Sears Homart. I know that the boiler is very old and it might be original to the house. If not original it's likely the first replacement steam boiler.

I currently have PSEG worry free. Every year something needs to be replaced on the boiler in addition to maintenance. PSEG has been responsive and I have no complaints with them at all. More than one service engineer suggested that I hold on to this system as long as I can as milivolt boilers are no longer manufactured. The point being my heat works if I lose power.

While parts are replaced every year, my steam boiler still works. (I'm knocking on wood) :smile:

At what point do I proactively replace my steam boiler? A new boiler would be energy efficient. Would the cost savings be significant that I should consider replacing? Do I use my current boiler until replacement is required? Thoughts?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,165
    Keep it. A new boiler might be somewhat more efficient, but it's unlikely it would be enough more to justify the expense of replacement.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    Puffy
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,718

In My opinion, Bergen county should have been replaced years ago. The problem is with Essex, Passaic and Hudson the only counties nearby, there are no good replacements.