Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat Pumps for Hydronic Baseboard Heat?

Hi Guys,

Do they currently make Heat Pumps to supply hot water to Hydronic Baseboard?

Thanks,

Pat

Comments

• Hot_water_fan
    Hot_water_fan Member Posts: 1,823
    Yes - with caveats. The Idronics journals cover this really well, I’d start there. 
    fentonc
  • iced98lx
    iced98lx Member Posts: 68
    edited June 2022
    Hi Pat!

I'm not an expert, and agree with checking out some articles in Hydronic Journals but last time I searched for Air to Water heat pump there were a few companies doing it with a 2 phase heat pump, and then there were also a few companies doing water -> water (AKA GeoThermal) heat pumps for it.

A quick google suggests there may be more available now, but here are some links to get you started:

https://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/article/air-to-water-heat-pump-retrofit

https://www.daikin.com/products/ac/lineup/heat_pump

https://www.arcticheatpumps.com/

Most were focused on in-floor due to the lower temp requirements but a few got as high as 150 IIRC which is what I run my baseboards at.

Hope that helps!
  • fentonc
    fentonc Member Posts: 235
    I've been doing a lot of reading about this as well. I agree with @Hot_water_fan - there is a great Idronics issue about this. There are several air-to-water heat pumps (theoretically) available, although finding someone to install/service them will depend on location. Arctic, Aermec, Spacepak, and Enertech make them, amongst others. There are 'cold-climate' as well as inverter-driven models available, but as others mentioned, they usually top out at like 130-135F as the maximum water temperature. Several of them also have integrated electric boilers, and can supplement as needed.