Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How to interpret Combustion Analysis Results - Noritz CB199-dv

Amodedude1
Amodedude1 Member Posts: 20
Just fired up a brand new Noritz CB199-DV (Natural Gas) and ran a combustion analysis and I'm trying to see if the unit is running within specifications or if I need to make adjustments but I am having trouble finding the OEM specifications for anything other than CO2 and gas pressure. Also, I'm not sure exactly how to interpret my results. Obviously, this is my first time ever doing a combustion analysis and this is my own boiler so I want to make sure I get it running right. Do the results indicate an adjustment is necessary on the gas valve or if it is running Lean or Rich?

Natural Gas supply pressure was tested at right around 7.5"w.c.

Comments

• Amodedude1
    Here is some of the documentation I found on the CB199 from the installation and service manuals.

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    I think you’re underfired, maybe @captainco can weigh in about an oriface change.
    Your CO2 numbers seem backwards, low fire vs. high fire.
    steve
    IronmanAmodedude1
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    You are too rich on low fire and too lean on high fire. CO is under 100, which is good.
    I have never been under the hood of a Noritz. Do you have the adjustment instructions?
    Your condition usually involves adjusting an offset screw which can be a challenging adjustment
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
    Amodedude1Ironman
  • Zman
    Was the outdoor air temp warmer for the first test and colder on the latter?
    Albert Einstein
  • Amodedude1
    edited November 2021