Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Painting outdoor black iron gas piping

ChrisJ
ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,583
I've been battling this since 2011, I originally cleaned it the best I could and then primed it and painted it. I then painted it again, and again.......

The biggest issue I had right off the bat was trying to clean the dope out of the threads. Obviously, less dope will mean less of a mess but even some oil that seeps out will cause an issue.

What is the best way to go about this and the best primer / paint to use on new piping outside?
Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment

Comments

• mattmia2
    mattmia2 Member Posts: 9,572
    I used paint thinner to clean all the grease off then used cold galvanizing compound spray. Still has a bit of an issue in the flat top of a union where it holds water but I don't know that there is a solution to that other than something like a radome.
  • Pughie1
    Pughie1 Member Posts: 135
    Back in the old days Niagara Mohawk (National Grid) used a heavy duty green tape to cover their gas piping. haven't seen it in years though
  • GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 1,888
    We always hose it down with mineral spirits and wipe/dry it clean then paint over it with an oil base exterior paint, either with a Wagner sprayer or the regular old brush method. 2 coats. Touch up the unions, etc that get marred up. Looks about as good as painted pipe can look for decades
    ChrisJ
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    Black piping does have somewhat of a coating. Paint thinner, diesel, etc will strip it down to bare steel. I’ve used all sorts of paint over the years from Rustoleum  to basic hardware latex.