Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

electric boilers?

Grallert
Grallert Member Posts: 643
I've been asked to help with design and installation of a complete Hydronic system for a friend. In the past I've installed conventional fuel boilers with panel radiators and cast iron radiators. On a previous job I did for him we used a Viessmann mod con I forget the model now. This time he asked about electric boilers. I have no experience with these but I do think that perhaps electric is the wave of the future. At the moment he has no plans for installing solar but it's not out of the question in the future. This building will be very tight with new windows and doors foam insulation etc. We are in the hills of western mass. Do any of you have experience with these and can give a little input about their effectiveness? I figured this is a good place to start. Thanks guys.
M
Miss Hall's School service mechanic, greenhouse manager,teacher and dog walker

Comments

• Robert_25
    Robert_25 Member Posts: 527
    Electric boilers are very simple, and are common in areas with cheap hydro power.  Assuming you have an adequate electric service and the price per kwH is favorable (in most areas it is not), an electric boiler can work out fine.
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    A fully modulating or multi stage model will help reduce demand spikes and maintain a constant temp. On-board outdoor reset would also be a nice feature. Be sure your customer understands the energy cost side of this. In most areas, electricity is the most expensive option, time-of-day metering makes it even more expensive.
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
    Paul Pollets
  • Paul Pollets
    Paul Pollets Member Posts: 3,656
    edited September 2021