Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Learning heat loss calcs - looking for infiltration factors

Macro
Macro Member Posts: 7
edited December 2020 in Radiant Heating
So I'm learning about heat loss calculations and boiler sizing etc. but I would like to be able to do that calculations myself manually before relying on a program or online calculator. I am finding it impossible to find the infiltration factor multipliers anywhere though. Can someone direct me to them? I don't mind if I have to pay for a download or book but I can't find it. I'm an ICI plumber but trying to expand my resi knowledge and skills to grow my own business. Thanks!

Comments

• This is how we used to do heat loss calculations in the "old days":
    https://heatinghelp.com/assets/documents/110.pdf
    Thanks to Erin, Dan and HeatingHelp for keeping this in their archives.
    8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
    Erin Holohan Haskell
  • GW
    GW Member Posts: 4,691
    Infiltration, that’s the wild west, unless you have a blower door. This is a basic fundamental, the taller the structure, the more infiltration. The older the structure, the more infiltration. It’s likely why the old-timers put these huge radiators in the front entry/hallway.
    Gary Wilson
    Wilson Services, Inc
    Northampton, MA
    gary@wilsonph.com
    MacroTinman
  • Macro

This is how we used to do heat loss calculations in the "old days":

Thanks! There's a lot of old and roughly built homes where I am that I think this would be useful for. Is there any other resources you can suggest for learning about this stuff? I see reference to "Manual J" sometimes but I don't know what that is!
  • STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506