Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

design help

knel
knel Member Posts: 10
edited November 2020 in Radiant Heating
I have an old 20x20 detached garage turned workshop. (No garage door and lots of windows.) It has natural gas supplied to it. I'm having a new floor poured soon and would like to place pex in the slab. I've never done this before but am handy enough to DIY. I realize it is probably an unconventional setup for hydronic heat, being so small of a space. Hence, some basic questions:

At 1 ft spacing, should I run one 400 ft loop of 5/8" or two 200 ft loops of 1/2"?

If I also add a sink to the room, closed or open system?

Boiler or tankless water heater?

Also, what are ways I can keep the system efficient in terms of energy consumption? Model numbers to look at for the mechanicals?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    You should do a heat loss. That will tell you pipe size, loop length, flow rate and temperature.
    You’ll never do a 400' loop in almost any scenario.
    You must insulate underneath the slab and the edges.
    steve
    knelIronman
  • knel
    Thanks for your reply, Steve! I calculated design loss at 10,665 Btu/hr.
    Any pointers on tube size, loop length, spacing, flow, temp?
    Pump recommendation?
    Heater/boiler?
  • SuperTech
    SuperTech Member Posts: 2,137
    Use a boiler.  It has a heat exchanger designed for your purpose.  A water heater is not designed for space heating, flow rates and delta T requirements are completely different.  Always use a closed system, a combi boiler might be a good option if you have hot water requirements.  
    The design process does start with figuring out heat loss of the space. 
    Ironmanknel
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561