Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Single or duel use of a circulator pump ?

stepup
stepup Member Posts: 6
Im new to piping a water storage tank , I think I can use just once circulator pump and two zone valves to switch between domestic hot water and for the heat loop seperating them with zone valves , do i need two circulator pumps ? Ty

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    Please. Do yourself and your family a favour. Do NOT use the same water for your domestic hot water and the heating loops -- if that's what you mean. If by "heat loop" you mean a heating system, that must be separated from the domestic hot water -- either completely physically or with a reduced pressure zone backflow preventer.

So you will need a separate pump... among other things.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    IronmanSuperTech
  • stepup
    they are separated heat and water for domestic, Im questioning useing two zone valves and one circulator pump one is for heat loop and the other for water heat loop ,this is for hot water storage,
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    One circulator and two zone valves will do just fine.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • stepup
    Thanks jamie , Its a well mclain CGa-4-PIDN 88k btu boiler it has a input for DHW /aquastat on the board , Im thinking I would use the aquastat conected to a zone valve to cycle it for hot water , and the other zone valve would be to the stat and the zone for the heat ,Im thinking i can make this work with just the board on the boiler ? Thanks for the help so far ,
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561