Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How to be a teacher

Matt_30
Matt_30 Member Posts: 16
I've found The Wall to be an invaluable resource, and I'm very grateful for the great teachers who have generously given their time on this forum. Now, someone here in Denver has decided to hire me as a teacher. After a few hot days on the roof last week and over 40 years of working with my body (37 of them in HVACR), I've decided to accept. I've owned my own small shop for the past 25 years, and I expect that this will be quite the change and that a learning curve will be involved. My background is in commercial HVAC and refrigeration, with a fair amount of hydronics as well. I'm asking for advice from those of you who teach, whether it be at seminars or in classrooms. I've always enjoyed teaching people, but I realize that there's a huge difference between talking to a couple apprentices or a few building maintenance personnel and standing in front of a class of 20 or 30 inquiring minds. I'd like to be like Dan Holohan, who has a very approachable and coherent way of imparting knowledge, and who once gently chided me when I got snotty online. I'd like to teach with his kind of empathy and kindness. I'm only slightly terrified. Thanks!
mattmia2SuperTech

Comments

• Matt_30
    I haven't, but I will be.
  • ethicalpaul
    ethicalpaul Member Posts: 5,695
    Congratulations! The most valuable thing I learned in teaching of technical subjects (programming in my case) is that it's not a matter of "whether" someone (or more likely, some percentage!) in the room isn't following what you're saying, it's a matter of getting them to feel comfortable enough to share that fact with you and the rest of the class.