Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat Pumps

I have limited knowledge of heat pumps and more and more customers are asking for them. SpacePak just had a webinar on their products and I have a few questions for the HeatingHelp community to help me better understand them.

They explained that a heat pump is just like an electric boiler which explains their moderate amp draw (21 amps, 230 volts). Can a photovoltaic system on a 1,300 square foot house reasonably provide enough power for the heating, domestic use and charging an electric car?
8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,170
    And electric boiler? No. That term is -- in my understanding, @Alan (California Radiant) Forbes , used for boilers which use direct resistance heating. And thus a lot of amps!

That said. The commonly accepted usable figure for photovoltaics is 20% efficiency (used to be lower, and even now degrades over time) which means that for every square meter of photovoltaics you can get 200 watts of power. Note that that area is measured in a plane perpendicular to the direction to the sun -- not the plane of the array.

Therefore, at 230 volts, you will get slightly less than one amp for each square meter of array -- 0.86 amps, more or less. To be conservative, though, that should be downrated for aging to about 0.65 amps. For your 21 amps, then, you would want 32 square meters of array, measured in that perpendicular plane, or about 350 square feet.

Note that that is in that perpendicular plane. If the sun is 45 degrees off that perpendicular, you would need half again as much. -- say 500 square feet, more or less.