Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie here

ApolloT
ApolloT Member Posts: 12
Hi,
As the title says I’m new at this. I have a problem which I’ve sort of worked thru. Up to a point anyway. We have. Weil-Mac boiler. The vent damper a johnson controls unit is stuck in the open position(which is OK for now). But the burner is not venting properly... there are some blue flames coming out from under the front of the burner. How do I adjust to reduce/eliminate these?
Sorry I don’t know all the proper terms to ask this directly.

THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR HELP

Comments

• SuperTech
    SuperTech Member Posts: 2,139
    Please shut down the boiler and call a professional. Open the windows, if your boiler isn't venting properly you are risking carbon monoxide poisoning. The work you need done requires special tools and extensive training on how to use them correctly.
    HVACNUTSTEVEusaPA
  • HVACNUT
    HVACNUT Member Posts: 5,804
    Turn off the electric and gas to the boiler.

What you're seeing is called Rollout. And it's not good. There should be a safety fuseable link there.

Are you able to remove the flue pipe and check the chimney base and the boiler flue passages?

Post some pics. But shut the system down first.
    STEVEusaPA
  • ApolloT
    HI again,
    I have some add’l info on the system components and better description of the problems.
    Weill-Mac gas boiler. Model# EG 45 PI; face plate hard to read; Johnson cont. Vent damper syst. Which “...consists of a Y15 damper assembly, M15 damper operator, and a Y84 wiring harness.
    ‘Origins’ of the problems: vent damper system broke in closed position(which SHOULD have shut down whole system) allowed system to continue working. It was a bit inconsistent- for example I occasionally heard the sys kick-in and saw fine small blue flames.