Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Old (T/T) Taco SR506 with 5 zones, looking to convert to 5 NESTs--transformer questions

30dayfreetrial
30dayfreetrial Member Posts: 6
edited January 2020 in THE MAIN WALL
I'm new to dealing with home wiring, and have done several hours of research, but can't quite find the information I'm looking for. I have an old--ie T/T, no individual common terminals for each thermostat--Taco SR506 hooked up to my boiler, with 5 zones configured. Heat only, no AC.

I don't want to try to run 5 NESTs with no common wire, so rather than setting up individual (ie plug-in) transformers at the thermostat end for all 5, I wanted to set one up on the boiler side, and run a common wire to each thermostat.

The SR506 has a 24V 15VA transformer with a common terminal that I could theoretically use.

However, from my research, that is enough to power 1 NEST, but not 5 (in a couple posts here, it seems like a 24v 40VA transformer can run 2). It seems that even if it had individual common terminals for each thermostat, the problem would remain the same--the built-in transformer couldn't power that many NESTs anyway. As such, I was looking at some 24V ~100VA transformers to wire up instead--for example: