Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Line voltage thermostat for radiant?

WesBooth85
WesBooth85 Member Posts: 4
edited February 2019 in Radiant Heating
So I am a plumber and just venturing into the world of heating. I have a domestic water heater (100k btu Vertex) with space heating loop. I am going to put some heated floors in soon.

My question: Besides having a thermostat with floor sensor, is there any reason not to have line voltage thermostats with a pump dedicated to each thermostat to create separate zones?

The addition of transformers and relays and 24 v thermostats seems excessive and redundant when alls I need to do is power 120v pumps separately. Zone valves are just as expensive if not more than a circulating pump so why not just buy more pumps to creat different zones.

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,366
    Let's go back to design basics: how many gpm are needed for each loop? If one pump can do all the loops, which is quite often the case, why would a circulator on each loop be necessary or even desirable?

To answer your original question, IDK of any line voltage stat that's designed for radiant.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    Is your space heating an open system or closed? If you are planning to deliver an open (bacteria farm) to your customer, please stop reading, you have come to the wrong site.

"If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
    SuperTech
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    Sure you can use 120V stats, it requires appropriate wire of course. Look at the stats used for electric radiant mat systems,
    they have radiant specific features.