Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

I am writing a sales book and need your advice

RayWohlfarth
RayWohlfarth Member Posts: 1,459
Howdy
I am writing a new book on sales and it is aimed to the technician considering a career in sales. The book will cover how to find prospects, develop a sales presentation, and follow up. It will cover basics and residential as well as commercial sales. I was wondering what subjects you would like to see covered in a sales book. I used to teach sales training years ago and thought it may be something of interest as I was a technician that became a sales person and a business owner.
Thanks
Ray
Ray Wohlfarth
Boiler Lessons

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    A few thoughts

1- The correct way to develop a selling price for the product and services you intend to sell. That should be an early chapter.

Selling at breakeven, or a loss isn't much of an occupation.

2- Suggest a Toastmasters or Dale Carnage course for those shy about public interaction.

3- Learn to listen first, then present the sale.

Understand the importance of the "sale", nothing happens in a service business until the sale is made.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • jumper
    jumper Member Posts: 2,226
    Maybe salesmen are born not made. In that profession one must not take rejection personally. Difficult to do in a book but the want-to-be salesman needs to attend a boot camp where she becomes inured to abuse. At least that was my experience doing cold calls in industrial sales. Phone somebody enough times and he'll buy anything to placate you. It's war out there.
    CLamb
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    edited February 2017