Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

What damage has 2psi done to my furnaces and other appliances

micarr02
micarr02 Member Posts: 3
Experts,

I am a remodeling contractor and HVAC is my weakest area of knowledge when it comes to building a home. We just completed a new home project about 2 months ago which has 2psi gas coming to the house. Well apparently no one notice (including myself) and the 2 furnaces, hot water heater, and range were all installed without a Maxitrol (spelling?). The only reason i know this is the owner called today and told me both there units were not working properly and the range didn't seem to have a good flame anymore. i called the gas company thinking it was a pressure issue and when they came out they notices we were feeding the whole house with 2psi and not Maxitrols on any of the appliances. So they turned off the meter and my plumber was out this afternoon to install them. the gas company came back out and turned the gas back on this evening. All the appliances fired right up and seem to be functioning properly.

My question for you guys is....knowing that the units have been operating this way for 2 months or so, is it likely there has been permanent damage caused and is there anything specific i should make the plumber replace such as the gas control valves?

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    The gas valves are only rated for 1/2 psi inlet pressure - max. They should be replaced and the appliances thoroughly evaluated by a licensed HVAC tech. Manifold pressures should be set to manufacturer's specs.
    Who installed the appliances? They should have discovered the 2 psi system immediately upon start up, if not much sooner.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
    Jean-David Beyer
  • lchmb