Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need to build a SMALL steam system cheaply

Science Researcher
Science Researcher Member Posts: 17
edited May 2015 in THE MAIN WALL
I'm a high school student and I'm doing a research project on magnetism. Basically, I'm heating a metal tube a few inches in length up to very high temperatures, anywhere between 300-650K. I need a steam boiler to act as a coolant for the metal. The steam is piped into the metal tube, cooled, and then back into the boiler. In my schematics, it was simple: steam boiler, lightly pressurized: solenoid valve for steam, and 2-3 feet of piping. It has been an absolute nightmare trying to even find and get quotes for these materials. My school is giving me a maximum of $100 to fund this, the rest comes out of my pocket. Does anyone have experience with projects of this type? Can anyone help me to find these supplies? I would be extremely grateful to anyone that can lend me a hand.

Comments

• Kakashi
    Kakashi Member Posts: 88
    300 to 650 thousand btu boiler? Try the junk yard.
  • Fred
    Fred Member Posts: 8,542
    What kind of pipe do you expect will take a temp of 300 - 650K degrees? Metal will lose its magnetic properties at forging temps. I think that is around 2000 to 2500 degrees F.
  • bob_46
    bob_46 Member Posts: 813
    I think he is talking Kelvin degrees about 80ºF to 700ºF
    bob
  • Science Researcher
    I really only need to boil a liter or two of water. And yes, I was talking about Kelvin degrees, exactly like bob said. The steam pipe will probably only need to support temperatures up to 500 Kelvin.
  • RobG
    RobG Member Posts: 1,850
    Would a pressure cooker on a gas hot plate work? You might have to rig up gauges and such.
  • Science Researcher