Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

NCB-180

JAL
JAL Member Posts: 13
I had recently had a Navien NCB-180 w/ODR installed in my house, after the install, I was looking at the piping and was woundering if was correct, I am no plumming expert, but I have piped in a lot of systems over the past 20 yaers as a Millwright, It seems to me that the return is not piped correct ???, to me it looks as though it is fighting it self with supply and return, the system is working fine and is modulating and condensing at times, due the fact it has been in the signal digits to low teens for a while, I live in the Chicago land area. I have included a pic, that was takin during install...let me know what you think.

Comments

• Abracadabra
    Abracadabra Member Posts: 1,948
    Picture is kinda fuzzy where I want to zoom in, but it looks ok to me.. what part are you refering to when you say "it is fighting it self with supply and return"

Looks like it is piped primary/secondary with 2 zones?
  • JAL
    the return and supply are on dif sides, if zone one and zone two are running at the same time it seems that one has to over come the other , and that if only one zone is running that the supply and return are so close that the return would just get sucked into the suppy, am I wrong?
  • Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,366
    edited February 2015
    It's called primary/secondary piping which provides hydraulic separation between the loops. Obviously, it's correct because the system performs correctly.

The only minor issue that I see is at the right side pump: there should be 8 pipe diameters of straight pipe between the Ell and Tee. I wouldn't bother with it though since it's working okay.

You can go to the on site book store and get Dan's book on "Primary Secondary Piping'" to understand the principal.
    Bob Boan