Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

24 volt false?

Paul_69
Paul_69 Member Posts: 251
I had a goodman gmpn gas furnace that was 1 blink on code. Tested thru circuit and found 24 volts @ gas valve but wouldnt open. I could see it was struggling to open and was certain it was a bad gas valve. I called goodman to verify a few things and told them what i found. He said to try 24 volts strait from transformer as he said sometimes on old units a switch or the board could be sending proper 24 vlt but not proper amperage. I put it direct and the gas valve worked fine. Bypass all swiches and looks like it might be a faulty board. I have never seen this b4. Anytime i had 24 vlt to a valve , motor etc. Yiu would replace itbecause you had voltage proper. Any commentd on thid new find would be good. I am a tech.

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,561
    What you are seeing is a bit unusual but makes perfect sense.
    My favorite auto mechanic showed me a trick that helps pinpoint problems like this.
    You put a load on the circuit in question then put one lead of your voltage meter on the battery positive (Transformer in your case) and the other lead on the suspect positive at the device (gas valve). If the voltage meter shows voltage, from positive to positive, it means there is a restriction,the power will use your meter as a path if it does not have an adequate path through the circuit.
    You should be able to use this technique to find the weak spot. It could just be a bad wire or connector.

Carl
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265