Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Replacing Badly Rusted Tankless Coil on Weil Mclain EG-45 - NSFW

hadeone
hadeone Member Posts: 63
edited August 2023 in Strictly Steam
Hello all again, I have a older Weil Mclain EG-45 that I'm (slowly) maintaining after I believe the previous owners neglected for a long time. When I moved in I suspected the tankless coil was leaking slowly and bought the replacement parts to change it and now the time has come. The damage has accelerated big time since the boiler was turned off this spring. Big chunks of the coil plate are coming off and it looks like one of the bolts is also nearly gone. I wasn't expecting that when I went to spray them all with Knoll to prepare for removal.

I've never done this before (but I'm sure it will turn out fine ;) ) I'm looking for your advice once again. Any tips to prepare for this disaster of a project? I found a similar thread and have pretty much the same questions as this guy : https://forum.heatinghelp.com/discussion/165188/steam-boiler-tankless-coil-repair

On top of that, is the actual boiler sections at risk of being degraded? Should I plan on changing the whole boiler all together? Here are some NSFW pics of the damage:

So far I just cleaned off as much rust as I could around the bolt heads and sprayed Knoll. Not sure it will penetrate enough to do anything. I plan on spraying them every day for a few days. How should I try to remove them without snapping?
Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

Comments

• JohnNY
    JohnNY Member Posts: 3,286
    Out of curiosity, why are you saying NSFW?
    Contact John "JohnNY" Cataneo, NYC Master Plumber, Lic 1784
    Consulting & Troubleshooting
    Heating in NYC or NJ.
    Classes
    Mad Dog_2
  • hadeone
    JohnNY said:

Out of curiosity, why are you saying NSFW?