Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

A (true) narrative about heat pumps, backup heat sources, and considerations when going all electric

This post is mainly for people like @ethicalpaul and @Hot_water_fan who like to debate the merits of heat pumps on this forum, but also for the proponent of pragmatic truth, @Jamie Hall .

I am a part time farmer and tinkerer on all things including HVAC systems, but for my day job I have a vice president level position in the electric power generation industry. My team touches double digit percentages of the installed capacity in multiple global portfolios where we provide control systems integration and operations support to these clients. I have stayed hands on and maintained my certification in multiple markets as a bulk power generation resource operator occasionally personally help out with technical problems when they're interesting or critical, which is part of why I was so aware of what happened as it happened.

I wrote the attached piece after we narrowly averted a problematic situation in the eastern US right before Christmas. It's rather long and technical but is 100% nonfiction and very important for people considering retrofitting heat pumps to understand. Enjoy!
ratioMad Dog_2Solid_Fuel_Man

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,159
    Thank you for all that, lad. You may have left Vermont for the Shenandoah, but you're still thinking like a Yankee farmer!
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    Mad Dog_2Solid_Fuel_Man
  • fentonc
    fentonc Member Posts: 235