Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Newbie Here - Boiler replacement proposal. Should I request more details? Any additional input

AirCooledVW
AirCooledVW Member Posts: 32
edited November 2022 in Strictly Steam
I have a proposal from my small town plumbing and heating company to replace my steam boiler. This company has been in business for over 50 years, has a 4.4 star google rating and I have no reason to expect any "funny business." The information below is the written proposal and Verbally, he told me a Digital Honeywell thermostat is included in the installation. Should I expect any additional information be written in the proposal? He also provided me the brochures for U.S. Boiler Company - Steam Max model STMX250, and U.S. Boiler Company Limited Warranty.

As stated in the title, I know nothing about steam heat, other than when I've experienced it elsewhere, I've loved it. I've lived in my 1910 house for over a year but have only used the gas fireplaces for heat, because previous owners. I am buying "We Got Steam Heat: An Owner's Guide to Peaceful Coexistence" by Dan Holohan (or do I want "The Lost Art of Steam Heating - Revisited? or both?).

Description: STEAM BOILER Qty. 1 Price .
Proposal Notes: "We offer to install all labor and materials to properly install a Burnham steam boiler in your house. The boiler will have a input capacity of 250,000 btu. It will operate at 82% efficiency.