Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Reoccurring vent issue

Hello all, i'm back. 

So here's a quick refresher, after new years my boiler was going through excessive amounts of water, called the tech he replaced the vents, it was worse.  then i repalced then again my self 3 more times and finally settled with varivalves and since then have been adding water every week or more then a week. 

i am here today because, i heard my radiator vents making a gurgling noise and saw some water droplets being let out. I'm not an expert, i'm trying to help my parents avoid spending unnecessary money. 

Boiler pictures are attached 

Other information, I have 4 quarters (2 on each side) sloping the radiator, this is what i was advised in a previous thread. i tend to hear this gurgling less when the sight glass is half full. I flush the boiler out every 2 weeks by removing a gallon and adding a new gallon. The pressuretrol is 3 years old (i'm aware a vapor stat is better but couldn't get ahold of one at that time.) The pig tail was cleaned using a straw and blowing through it, after some forceful blowing it cleared it out. Thankfully here in New York the heating season is just about over. 

Lastly the thermostat, i have a honeywell that looks like below: I mention the thermostat because it's set to fire on 4 times a day. Wake, Leave, Return, Sleep. I only notice this for return because i'm home everyday when the boiler clicks on for return at 3:47 pm, at 4:14 Pm the thermostat reaches its set temp BUT it doesn't shut off. the boiler continues to run until 4:30 and then shuts off. so i notice this at around 4:20 when it's at its temperature leading me to believe it's a pressure issue. 

Im lost, really lost 

Comments

• neilc
    neilc Member Posts: 2,689