Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How low can UG propane tank reach before pressure dropping out?

sunlight33
sunlight33 Member Posts: 378
I have a 500-gal underground propane tank (on a lease) supplying fuel for my boiler. When it was at 21% I called my propane company and they told me I will be getting delivery soon because I am on their automatic delivery system with the remote motoring. Now it's 13% and the company reassured me again that I will not be running out of propane, but they wouldn't tell me the delivery date. I use about 1% (5 lb) of propane daily. I have been using this company for eight years and they had always been reliable, but they never wait the tank to be this empty before refueling. Perhaps the drivers are calling sick due to Covid but at what point should I start to worry? 5%?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,128
    Propane delivery is much much more a matter of temperature than fill. What drives the propane out of the tank is the vapourization of the liquid -- and the pressure that exerts is entirely dependent on its temperature.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    sunlight33
  • jumper
    jumper Member Posts: 2,374

Propane delivery is much much more a matter of temperature than fill. What drives the propane out of the tank is the vapourization of the liquid -- and the pressure that exerts is entirely dependent on its temperature.

A good reason to bury propane tank? Also will ground reduce venting in summer?
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,128
    Yup
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,609