Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

boiler therms per degree-day increases during heating season

Options
Nom_Deplume
Nom_Deplume Member Posts: 91
Hi...I am a homeowner with an HTP Elite FT condensing boiler. I have been monitoring gas consumption per degree-day for the last three years. Every season, it starts most efficient in October (about 0.25 therms/degree-day) but then steadily gets worse, ending up at about 0.31 therms/degree-day in May. That's almost 25% worse. Next year, it's back to 0.25 in October, etc.

I realize that therms/degree-day is not a standard measure of efficiency, and depends on the house; it's just something that is easy for me to calculate. But my question is about the trend. If the efficiency were worst in Jan/Feb I would attribute it to less condensation, but that's not what I am seeing.

PS the therms data comes from the gas bill, and the degree-day data from www.degree-days.net. Summer gas consumption is about 0.5 therms/day, so I subtract that baseline from the winter consumption before calculating the ratio. I clean the boiler myself each summer; there are some coffee grounds fireside and in the trap, but not that much, i.e. nothing to indicate that this cleaning will somehow improve the efficiency.

Is this normal, and what could it be due to? Thanks in advance!

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    Options
    I wonder if your net efficiency is taking a hit due to short cycling on the shoulder season days. How is the boiler sized as compared to the load.
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,367
    Options
    Interesting. I've never noticed a pattern like that -- but I have steam.
    Br. Jamie, osb