Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Burnham V-74 T leaking and venting out chimney

I have a Burnham V-74 T that was installed in 1995. I have recently moved into this house and noticed that low water filler was kicking on a couple times an hour. There is no water leaking anywhere. So, I waited for a cold day and sure enough there is a cloud of steam vapor coming out of the chimney. I'm guessing there is a upper level crack but I'm not an engineer. What should I look to do here? Can I get this crack repaired? Or do I need a new boiler?

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,945
    Oops. Well, if there really is a hole above the water line, and all your symptoms point to that, there is no fix. This is usually not a crack, but an actual hole rusted through the boiler metal.

Time for a new boiler -- though you can probably make it through the winter on what you have though it will cost more fuel. But start planning now -- most of the folks who are any good at steam boilers are pretty busy.

Where are you located? It's possible that we might know some good people in your area.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    ethicalpaul
  • pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 5,046
    Easiest way to prove the boiler is leaking

Let it cool down
    Manually fill until the steam pipe gets cold, you'll see water on the floor.

From here it sounds like its shot.

Do you go through a lot of water?

ethicalpaulLong Beach Ed
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,975
    @tippicat