Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heat Ex-changers - Is there a loss of heat ?

Options
I am a newbie - I am seeing there is a closed system and an open system that are being used to heat concrete slabs with domestic Water Heaters. Then there is the option of having a heat ex-changer with the source of heat being the water heater for both the house and for the slab heat source. My question is about the heat ex-changer. Is there a LOSS of heat as the hot water passes between the two points? And how big of a Water Heater would be the right size for this type of set-up? I have Natural Gas at the WH. Thanks for the help! (I am sure I will have more questions as I learn about this topic)

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,550
    Options
    There will be some loss of heat but it is negligible.

We would need a lot more information to size the water heater. Most recommend boiler for heating and water heaters for heating water.

It would be better to use a boiler for the heat with an indirect tank connected to the boiler for hot water
    RichinTennSuperTech
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,338
    Options
    Water heaters are intended to heat domestic hot water. Boilers are intended to heat water for heating your house or building. Thet are not interchangeable. In general, a water heater -- even one of the really big gas or oil fired ones -- will have a short and miserable life if used for heating the house.

Boilers, on the other hand, are meant to heat the house and will do so for years quite happily. And they can handle the domestic hot water, too, by means of what's called an "indirect", as @EBEBRATT-Ed suggested. Works just fine.