Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Doing something wrong with steam radiators

Options
So I'm a complete amateur with steam heating but I've been reading and trying to learn what I can. The I just replaced a supply valve on one radiator and changed our another to add a vent to one of my mains (it has nothing and apparently the entire system was just using the radiator vents this whole time) 

The problem I'm having is on both radiators after I put everything back together they're leaking from the radiator side on the valve nut. I'm obviously doing something wrong just don't know what. (Thought I had them lined up pretty good) 

Any tips tricks or advice would be greatly welcome

Comments

• Danny Scully
    Danny Scully Member Posts: 1,424
    Options
    Did you remove the old spud from the radiator and replace? 
  • EdTheHeaterMan
    EdTheHeaterMan Member Posts: 7,837
    edited November 2020
    Options

Did you remove the old spud from the radiator and replace? 

The union type of connection from one brand of fitting or valve to another fitting or valve is rarely interchangeable. The part of the valve or elbow that is connected to the radiator is called the "SPUD" It has the union ring that fits over the valve threads. You will need a special wrench to extract the old spud and install the replacement valve spud. They are not very expensive.
    https://www.supplyhouse.com/Bluefin-RVSW-Radiator-Valve-Spud-Wrench
    Edward F Young. Retired HVAC ContractorSpecialized in Residential Oil Burner and Hydronics
    TroyNY
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,061
    Options
    Did you change 2 valves?
    Do not lose the new spud that came with the new valve.
    Don't try to strong arm the old union nut onto the new valve threads.
    That wrench Ed mentioned you will need to install the new spuds.