Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Lochinvar boiler howling after DHW call

ajustin
ajustin Member Posts: 2
I recently built a house and installed a radiant floor heating system with an indirect DHW tank. I am a commercial plumber by trade, so my knowledge of heating systems isn't the greatest so I will do my best to explain the setup and issue.
I have a Lochinvar Noble 80K boiler with the 40 Gallon Squire indirect tank with wired tank sensor. The system is piped with zone circulators controlled with a Taco SR504 board setup for DHW priority. Everything with the system is working great except for an annoying howl coming from the boiler from a low flame after a satisfied call for DHW switching to a space heat call. So here's what happens...

While the boiler is heating for a space heat call the DHW calls, the Boiler increases the setpoint to 160* and the Taco board kills power to the space heat circulators and powers the DHW circulator. The boiler heats the DWH to the 120* setpoint and ends the call for heat. The Taco board then kills power to the DHW circulator and powers back up the space heat circulators. Meanwhile the boiler reduces the heating setpoint to 110* or whatever it has adjusted to based on the outdoor temp. This is when I get the howl, the boiler is modulated to 10% while the input temp drops to where it needs to start heating again. The display will show low flame current on and off during this time and it makes a howling sound that fades in and out.

There seems to be no way to adjust the minimum modulation settings on this boiler. It seems like the boiler should shut down and lockout until the input temp lowers before resuming the space heating call but I can't find any way to do that.