Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

radiant baseboard zone running off steam boiler - problem with trapped air

Options
I have a question for the steam experts out there. I am not an expert, so some of my terminology might be wrong:

The main heat in my house is provided by a steam boiler heating steam radiators. There are two rooms however, that needed some additional heat, so the prior owner installed baseboard hot water heaters and connected those baseboards directly to the steam boiler. The hot water from the boiler is circulated by a taco circulator. there is one pipe leaving the boiler, and somewhere down the line it forks into two pipes which have zone valves on them. when the one room calls for heat, the one zone opens up etc. but there is only one pipe leaving the boiler and one returning.

the system does not work the way it is set up, because air keep getting into the baseboard system. I am not sure of exactly why, but based on what I have been reading on this site, this kind of a loop is an "open" loop, not a closed loop, and when the system is idle gravity is causing the water to drop back down in the boiler and air fills the pipes.

There are some tedious ways that i have found that i can force the water back into the loop, but it is a great headache and i dont want to keep doing it anymore.