Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam Coil Turn down - Vacuum pressure needed?

Options
kiser17
kiser17 Member Posts: 7
I am an engineer new to steam coils in air handling units. I have a 100% outside air unit application designed to heat air from 0F to 80F using 25psig steam (~266F). This is a process air handler, so it needs to deliver 80F all year. All air passes over the coils with no means (or room) for bypass. On a 70F day the steam coil is less than 10% loaded to deliver 80F. Simple heat transfer calculations show a need for 103F "steam" inside the coil to achieve the 70 to 80F rise. However, 103F steam means it is under significant vacuum pressure (-11.3psig). Vacuum breakers would not allow this. How can this coil achieve this turn down?
Thanks, Ed

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,520
    Options
    I seriously doubt that you have to go into a vacuum. I have done a ton of steam coils and have never seen a "vacuum" steam coil. If you run the coil in a vacuum the condensate will never drain. It is possible that during partial load a portion of the coil is under a vacuum.

You will need to install two control valves on the steam inlet piped in parallel. One valve sized for 1/3 capacity and the other valve for 2/3 capacity

I would need to know the lbs of steam required at the design load 0-80 deg for the coil that has been selected

Either way you probably need a pressure reducing valve on the steam line. Your going to find that 25lb steam is going to be very difficult...impossible to control without reducing the pressure.

You are also going to need someone that knows his stuff to pipe this right (traps on coil inlet and outlet and a vacuum breaker on the coil) and do the controls to prevent freeze ups.